CONTROL ROOM

SOUND INSTALLATION FOR LIGHT BOXES — 2009

  • "Control room" @ La filature, 2009

  • "Control room" @ La filature, 2009

  • "Control room" @ La filature, 2009

Control Room is a light and sound installation that puts you, the viewer, in the control room of an imaginary facility, immersing you in a sound space with an array of outsized red warning lights facing you.

A flux of ambient sounds, previously recorded at L’Alsace newspaper’s printing shop in Mulhouse, is automatically transcribed into a choreography of lights. The muffled rhythmic hammering, creaking, rumbling of rotary presses, the purring of motors, interspersed with strident voices, animates and controls the intensity of the red lights flashing on every side.

Contrary to any expectations raised by its title, there are no levers or controls at the viewer’s disposal in the Control Room. Rather, you bear witness as breaking waves of mechanical sound take control of the light system, whose intermittent flickerings and dazzling glare may call to mind a discotheque – or a forge in hell.

"Control room" @ La filature, 2009

CREDITS

Software and electronics Soixante circuits

Sound engineer Eric Ropars

Our thanks to L'Alsace newspaper

A coproduction of La Filature, Scène nationale de Mulhouse with the support of l’Atelier sonore

EXHIBITIONS

First shown on 19 March 2009 at La Filature Scène nationale de Mulhouse within TRANS(E) 09 festival,

25 September - 3 October 2009 at Ososphère Festival in Strasbourg,

18 - 28 November 2010 at Acces-s Festival in Pau.

CONTROL ROOM

INSTALLATION SONORE POUR BOITIERS LUMINEUX — 2009

  • "Control room" @ La filature, 2009

  • "Control room" @ La filature, 2009

  • "Control room" @ La filature, 2009

Control Room est une installation lumineuse et sonore qui place le visiteur dans la salle de contrôle d’une firme imaginaire. Il est immergé dans un espace sonore spatialisé, en face d’un alignement de voyants lumineux rouges surdimensionnés. Il assiste à une chorégraphie lumineuse, qui retranscrit les sons ambiants.

Ces flux sonores ont été préalablement captés dans l’imprimerie du journal L’Alsace à Mulhouse.

Martèlements, grincements, grondements sourds, rythmiques de rotatives, ronronnements de moteurs, le tout entrecoupé d’éclats de voix, animent et contrôlent l’intensité des lumières rougeoyantes qui clignotent de tous côtés.

Contre toute attente induite par le titre, cette salle ne dispose d’aucune manette ni bouton de contrôle accessible au visiteur. Ce dernier est plutôt le témoin de la prise de contrôle des sons déferlants sur le système lumineux dont l’intensité papillonnante et éblouissante évoque autant une discothèque, qu’une forge infernale.

"Control room" @ La filature, 2009

CRÉDITS

Logiciel et système électronique Soixante circuits

Prise de son Eric Ropars

Remerciements au journal L'Alsace

Coproduction La Filature, Scène nationale de Mulhouse, avec le soutien de l’Atelier sonore.

EXPOSITIONS

Création le 19 mars 2009 à La Filature Scène nationale de Mulhouse dans le cadre du festival TRANS(E) 09,

25 septembre - 3 octobre 2009 au festival Ososphère à Strasbourg,

18 - 28 novembre 2010 au festival Acces-s à Pau.