PIXELS

SOUND INSTALLATION FOR LIGHT BOXES — 2010

  • "Pixels" @ Brasserie Bouchoule Montreuil, 2011

AN ULTRA LOW RESOLUTION APPARATUS

Pixels is a series of ultra-low resolution film sequences. Reduced to a small number of pixels, these sequences look like enigmatic light patterns, moving constellations or animated calligrammes, which the viewer is instinctively challenged to decipher.

In this age of high definition and pixel inflation, in which mass market digital cameras display tens of millions of pixels, I figured a jolt in reverse was in order. So I decided to create “ultra-low resolution” screens with a 10 x 6 pixel matrix. This is approximately the resolution used to define the basic icons for a computer’s graphic interface, such as the white arrow cursor, for example. The pixels are generated by lightboxes containing LEDs of variable intensity. This highly reduced resolution “scrambles” the images displayed. The resultant rarefaction, the near-disappearance of readily legible signs, turns the viewing into a borderline experience of the limits of visual perception.

This series of film sequences probes the very process of straining to work out what it is one is really watching. In other words, Pixels casts the viewer as a decoder/detective, whose task is to make out the shapes and action unfolding on the screen. To do so, the viewer has to carry out a perceptual process that is the very opposite of the sleuthing photographer’s approach in Antonioni’s film Blowup : instead of progressively enlarging the picture, the viewer has to mentally step back, zoom out and compensate for the extreme stylization of the information presented by making a mental effort to put it in perspective. Just as modern military intelligence services interpret visual data from reconnaissance software, the viewer memorizes, sorts, compares, and seeks to identify the figures and action in the graphic patterns displayed so as to make out the situation suggested by the title of the film. He is aided in his detective work by the supplementary information provided by the soundtrack.

So the ultra-low resolution images deliberately titillate the viewer’s curiosity, appealing to the essential voyeur inside each and every one of us that eggs us on and rewards us for our painstaking decoding and detection efforts.

"Pixels" @ Brasserie Bouchoule, 2011

"PIXELS" @ Ososphère 2012- video : David Heitzmann for Arte creative

CREDITS

Program  andelectronics Soixante circuits

Coproduction La Filature, Scène nationale, Mulhouse

EXHIBITIONS

07.12.2012 > 16.12.2012  Ososphère Festival, Strasbourg Fr

04.05.2011 > 15.05.2011 Instants Chavirés Brasserie Bouchoule, Montreuil

05.03.2010 > 13.03.2010 festival TRANS(E) La Filature, Scène nationale, Mulhouse

PIXELS

INSTALLATION SONORE POUR BOITIERS LUMINEUX — 2010

  • "Pixels" @ Brasserie Bouchoule Montreuil, 2011

DISPOSITIF ULTRA BASSE RÉSOLUTION

Pixels, propose de montrer des séquences cinématographiques en ultra basse résolution. Réduites à quelques pixels, ces séquences se présentent comme des motifs lumineux énigmatiques, sortes de constellations mouvantes ou calligrammes animés et le dispositif pose la question de leur lisibilité.

A l’heure de la haute définition et de l’inflation des pixels, où les appareils photos numériques grand public en affichent des dizaines de millions, j’ai pensé qu’un mouvement inverse était de mise. J’ai donc décidé de fabriquer des écrans “ultra basse résolution » constitués d’une matrice de 10 pixels par 6 pixels. C’est approximativement la résolution retenue pour définir les icônes de base de l’interface graphique d’un ordinateur, comme la petite flèche du curseur par exemple. Ces pixels sont matérialisés par des boitiers lumineux contenant des leds dont l’intensité lumineuse est variable. Une définition aussi réduite pose la question de la lisibilité des images proposées. La raréfaction, la quasi-disparition des signes en fait une expérience limite.

Ce qui est en jeu dans cette série c’est le processus–même du regard actif du spectateur entièrement focalisé sur le déchiffrage de ce qu’il voit. Pixels met le spectateur en position de guetteur, de surveillant. Pour reconnaitre les formes et les mouvements, le spectateur, doit effectuer le travail inverse du photographe de « Blow up » d’Antonioni : pas d’agrandissement photographique, au contraire, il doit prendre mentalement du recul, zoomer en arrière et compenser la stylisation extrème de l’information par un effort de mise en perspective maximum. Exactement comme les logiciels de reconnaissance de formes des services d’espionnage de nos armées modernes, le spectateur mémorise, classe, compare, et tente d’identifier les figures et déplacements qu’il repère jusqu’à reconnaître dans les motifs graphiques affichés, la situation suggérée par le titre du film. Le spectateur est également aidé dans sa traque par le complément d’information que constitue la bande son.

La curiosité du spectateur est délibérément titillée par la réduction en ultra basse résolution. C’est le voyeurisme fondamental de chacun qui encourage et récompense son effort de décodage.

"Pixels" @ Brasserie Bouchoule, 2011

"PIXELS" @ Ososphère 2012- vidéo : David Heitzmann pour Arte creative

CRÉDITS

Logiciel et système électronique Soixante circuits

Une coproduction La Filature, Scène nationale, Mulhouse

EXPOSITIONS

07.12.2012 > 16.12.2012 à la Coop Port du Rhin Festival Ososphère 2012, Strasbourg.

04.05.2011 > 15.05.2011 Instants Chavirés Brasserie Bouchoule, Montreuil

05.03.2010 > 13.03.2010 festival TRANS(E) La Filature, Scène nationale, Mulhouse